[Can she really be 8?] sheila mckay photography charlotte nc kids photography

January 25, 2010 at 4:06 am 1 comment

Can my little girl really be 8 years old?  Time is flashing before my eyes.  And to think that I once told my family and mother in law that I wasn’t sure I could have a second child because I didn’t think it was possible to love another child the way I loved my son.  It only took me 3 1/2 years to realize that I could.  And I can totally say that I love them more than words can say. 

It was a great 8th birthday party!  M had it all planned out from beginning to end.  I think she may have a career in event planning.  She planned the cake, the decorations, and the ice skating party.  It was perfect for her and for me.  She makes me realize the importance of doing the small things.  I offered her the sun and the moon for a party planned at the skating rink but she had her heart set on a cake baked at home.  I know, some of you are thinking that it would have been quicker and easier to buy a cake from the bakery but it was such a treat to bake her cake together.  We spent the day in the kitchen baking and truly believe we will both remember it.  We talked about her other birthday parties and guess what, she remembered the birthday parties we planned together, not the ones I spent big bucks on at a fancy venue.  And for the record, the cake was so delicious, that it was all eaten in a day!

After filling our tummies full, all 10 of us headed for rink.  Have you ever had a group of giggling 8 year olds together?  Well, it is hilarious.  It was even more hilarious to see me with them – on ice skates.  It has only been about 18 years since I last wore a pair of skates.  I managed – and the girls – they managed. 

Another day of documented memories.  Even as a photograher, you don’t always have a chance to capture the perfect image.  My only goal this day was to make it a perfect birthday.  I can’t wait to document more!

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous, Personal. Tags: , , , , .

[Hello 2010] sheila mckay photography charlotte nc photographer [M’s Birthday Dinner – and more] sheila mckay photography kids photography charlotte nc

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tara k  |  January 26, 2010 at 4:51 am

    happy birthday to your sweet girl! love the shot of her with her girly friends. so fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


