[M’s Birthday Dinner – and more] sheila mckay photography kids photography charlotte nc

January 29, 2010 at 8:10 pm 2 comments

I hesitated at the keyboard to think back to January 27, 2002 when my little M was born.  My hubby and I were a little different than many of our  friends in the fact that we wanted the surprise.  We did it for our first child and wanted to wait again for our second.   And pleasant surprises they were.  Now the surprise to us  is that 8 years have passed since we brought our beautiful baby girl home.

We celebrate birthdays around here for days I guess you could say.  M’s started last weekend with her ice skating party.  Then onto a small celebration at school – painting the school rock in honor of the birthday girl and cupcakes for everyone at lunch. 

 And believe it or not, the festivities continued.  Remember, M may have a career in event planning – she has planned everything, right down to her birthday dinner menu.  Her favorites:  Cheeseburger hamburger helper, green peas, and mom’s homemade mash potatoes!  Definitely not her brother’s favorite but as she pointed out , she was the birthday girl! 

Where is the birthday cake you ask?  We baked that last weekend.  Tonight, I attempted a recipe for Chocolate Molten Lava Cake.  An incredibly rich, warm, delicious, coma inducing chocolate, gooey, to die for decadent petite cake that our family loves to eat at Chili’s restaraunt.  If you have not tried it, you must.   (I will share a post about that soon – so stay tuned)

After we stuffed our tummies full , we had to move forward to gifts, as directed by M no less.    Nothing extravagant – small, girly things she loves but her favorite gift was her very own fish tank.  She was tired of having to watch her fish in her brother’s tank. 

I know what you are all thinking.  Wow, is she spoiled or what?  Maybe?  I did it all to make memories.   I am grateful to have birthdays and celebrate them together.  I am so thankful she asked for time with me to paint the rock, have lunch at school, help me cook dinner, and play Rock Band!   I am enjoying every minute because I know it won’t be like this for long.  Have you heard that song by Darius Rucker?  Take  a minute , and listen to the words.  I know so many of you can relate to it, just as I can.

Entry filed under: Family, Kids, Personal, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

[Can she really be 8?] sheila mckay photography charlotte nc kids photography [love. . . chocolate molten lava cake] sheila mckay photography charlotte nc

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


